Duval Teachers United

DTU Leadership Announcement

November 1, 2023

Dear DTU Members, As you are aware, our longtime leader, President Terrie Brady retired last Friday after serving as president for the past twenty-four years. The DTU Vice President retired earlier in October. Per the DTU Constitution and Bylaws, on October 30, 2023, the Duval Teachers United Board of Directors met to elect a new President and Executive Vice President. The new officers will serve out the remainder of the current term.

After consideration and deliberation, the DTU Board voted by secret ballot to elect Tammie Brooks-Evans as President and Jessica Reyst as Executive Vice President of Duval Teachers United. The new DTU leaders are both certified teachers on personal leave of absence as the Collective Bargaining Agreement allows, from Duval County Public Schools.

Mrs. Brooks-Evans has worked as a teacher for the Duval County Public Schools prior to working at DTU as a Staff Consultant and the Chief Negotiator. While working for DCPS, Mrs. Brooks-Evans served as a Building Representative for DTU.

Mrs. Jessica Reyst worked as a teacher and reading coach for Duval County Public Schools prior to working at DTU as a Staff Consultant and Professional Development Coordinator. Mrs. Jessica Reyst served as a Building Representative and a professional development instructor for DTU.

Mrs. Brooks-Evans and Mrs. Reyst are both National Board-Certified teachers who have both worked to grow and support the National Board-Certified teachers of Duval County.

The members of DTU will continue to have strong advocates on their behalf and the new leadership team looks forward to the innovative path the organization will take in the coming months.

The new leadership and staff stand ready to work with the DTU Board of Directors and Building representatives to continue to provide great support to the excellent educators and support staff in the Duval County School System. The leadership team also looks forward to the continued success at the bargaining table for the Teachers, Paraprofessionals and United Office Personnel of Duval (UOPD) employees they represent.


Tammie Brooks-Evans, NBCT , Duval Teachers United President

Jessica Reyst, NBCT, Duval Teachers United President